POD question
Author

Verbose Collector
Acaeum Donor
Valuation Board

Post Posted: Sun May 02, 2021 3:29 pm 

I know this particular item has been discussed before (and I'm using it as an example) I am impressed with what looks like a quality POD book.  I have no experience with the service so I am curious for those that have, are the case and perfect bindings generally good?  I know the contents are based on the quality of the scan but I'm more interested in how well they are put together.

** expired/removed eBay auction **

thanks

-SKA

Long-Winded Collector

Post Posted: Sun May 02, 2021 3:44 pm 

Never seen this book before  :oops:

Rolls a '3'

"Did I hit.....?"

Verbose Collector
Acaeum Donor
Valuation Board

Post Posted: Sun May 02, 2021 4:00 pm 

Ashmire, its an unauthorized fan book that's a compilation of mostly old dragon magazine articles.

-SKA

Long-Winded Collector

Post Posted: Sun May 02, 2021 5:12 pm 

Thanks, found the pdf
The book looks good though. Would be nice to have as a piece

Rolls a '3'

"Did I hit.....?"

Grandstanding Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Mon May 03, 2021 3:45 am 

I can't believe someone paid $140 for that.
Someone thinks they've bought themselves a true rarity in mint condition for their collection.
With POD it really depends on paper quality and the selected printer, as well as the typesetter knowing how to set up his PDF for POD.
Some (Lulu had a reputation for this) come with sticky pages that tear ink from one another when you open the book. They also had QC issues with cutting of the pages not being aligned with the printed text.
From the typesetters perspective, some do not allow enough border at the bound edge, so when it's perfect bound the printed text is pulled too far in towards the spine.

Let's how said buyer is happy with their new found rare book. It takes money off the table that could be chasing things we really want to be bidding on.