E-Bay Negative Feedback
Author

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:35 am 

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to E-Bay trading and just wanting to poll some opinions on a problem I'm having with a seller.

I have recently found out that a seller (who shall remain nameless) I am currently dealing with has posted negative feedback to my account.  I am feeling a bit bent out of shape given the feedback left which was basically: no payment a month after the auction ended, and does not respond to e-mail.  My first question is since when did we adopt a three week month?  My second is how does one send responses to an e-mail account that is non-functioning?  I sent this person eight messages stating that payment was en route (which it was), which were all returned as "undeliverable".  I finally had to track this person down through E-Bay and contact them through the E-Bay mail delivery system to explain the situation - to which I am still awaiting response - by which time I had received negative feedback.  What really burns me is that the e-mail I did not respond to consisted of one message asking if payment was sent.  Two days later, while I was still trying to find a way to contact this person, I was nailed with negative feedback without any further notice.

At this point, I feel a little torn.  One part of me wants to just shrug the situation off leave neutral feedback and make sure I remain extra careful about who I deal with in the future.  On the other hand, I can't help but feel screwed over - which causes the evil voice in my head to suggest I retaliate with some negative feedback of my own to screw them back.  Of course the longer I have to wait for an acknowledgement to my message after having to track them down, the more the latter course appeals to me.  If I don't get the stuff I paid for I definitely will go with that feeling, but for now I'm trying to hold off and see what happens.  

What would you folks do in my position?

Thanks in advance,